The Executive Elected Officials
The Executive

Elected Officials

The executive branch of Ohio’s state government consists of six elected officials: the governor, lieutenant governor, attorney general, secretary of state, auditor of state, and treasurer of state. All are elected to serve four-year terms, with the governor and lieutenant governor elected on a single ballot as a team. All are limited by the Ohio Constitution to two consecutive terms but may run again after four years out of that office. Elections are held in even-numbered years (2018, 2022, etc.) between presidential elections. In addition to these six offices, the executive branch includes the departments or agencies responsible for administering state policy in major areas such as finance, transportation, health, human services, and natural resources. These departments and agencies are established by law and may be abolished or altered legislatively. Additional boards and commissions have been established for specific purposes and made part of the executive branch.

Role of the Governor

Role of the Lt Governor

The Executive Elected Officials
The Executive Elected Officials
Read the following document.
Hosting a Presidential Debate
To analyze campaign issues and to practice formal debate procedures and elements of logic. Extension activities address the history of presidential election debates and the importance of rhetoric and word choice in debates.
Contact Your Representative
Identify the Ohio senator or representative for where you live. Write a letter to one of them about an issue that you’d like for them to address. Don’t just complain, but state the case for what your issue is, what they can do to improve on the situation, and why it’s important to you.
Up Next...
voteresponsibly icons 14
The Executive Supplemental Agencies
Civics Instructor